Top Facts About Nigeria, the History of Naija

, , Leave a comment

In the north of present-day Nigeria, sturdy state techniques have advanced, a number of based mostly on divine kingship. Two highly effective states arose – Hausa-Bokwoi and Kanem-Bornu – which transformed to Islam. In the southwest, the Yoruba had, earlier than AD 1000, based Ife, nonetheless the non secular centre of Yorubaland.

In the early nineteenth century, there was upheaval in the north. Britain annexed Lagos in 1861 and expanded its management additional in 1884. By 1900 Britain had management of all Nigeria.

The 1914, six Africans had been introduced into the governor’s advisory council. In 1947 the council’s authority was prolonged to the entire nation; the 1947 structure additionally arrange regional homes of meeting in the east, west and north, with a House of Chiefs in the north. The 1951 structure gave the stability of energy to Nigerians. In 1954 Nigeria grew to become a federation, and in 1960 it grew to become unbiased.

Nigeria’s independence authorities was led by the Northern People’s Congress in alliance with the National Council of Nigerian Citizens (a largely Igbo celebration). In 1963 the nation grew to become a republic with Dr Nnamdi Azikwe its first (non-executive) president.

In May 1967, Lt-Col Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu declared japanese Nigeria an unbiased state named the Republic of Biafra. This led to civil battle, with hostilities persevering with till 1970 when Biafra was defeated.

In 1994 one of Nigeria’s hottest writers, Ken Saro-Wiwa, and eight others had been arrested and charged with the homicide of native chiefs. They had been tried by a army courtroom and executed in November 1995. In response, Nigeria was suspended from the Commonwealth.

READ  40 Cute Happy Birthday Daughter In Law Quotes And Wishes

After greater than a decade of army rule, a brand new structure was adopted in 1999, and there was a return to civilian authorities. After Olusegun Obasanjo grew to become president in May 1999, Nigeria’s suspension from the Commonwealth was lifted.

In 2011 Goodluck Jonathan, candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), received the presidential election in the first spherical with 59% of the votes solid. His foremost challenger, Muhammadu Buhari, took 32% of the votes solid.

Ultimately, Muhammadu Buhari received election at his rerun in 2015, a marketing campaign geared by the slogan and sole level agenda referred to as “CHANGE” apparently turning into the president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Facts About Nigerian Government

Nigeria is a republic with a federal democracy and an government president. The president is head of each state and authorities, and leads the Federal Executive Council (cupboard).

Legislative energy is vested in the authorities and the bicameral legislature; the latter consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate. The House of Representatives has 360 members elected for a four-year time period in single-seat constituencies. The Senate has 109 members elected for a four-year time period in three-seat constituencies, which correspond to the nation’s states, and one seat in a single-seat constituency, the capital (Abuja).

The president is elected each 4 years by common grownup suffrage, and is required to incorporate a minimum of one consultant of every of the 36 states in the cupboard.

There are 19 federal ministries, protecting all related sectors of the polity. Each has a minister and, in some instances, a further minister of state at the centre of affairs, all of whom are appointed by the president. The everlasting secretary is the accounting officer and administrative head of every ministry, whereas the head of Service of the Federation is the administrative head of the civil service.

READ  45 Best Birthday Wishes And Quotes for Sister In Law To Express Love

The Federal Republic contains the Abuja Federal Capital Territory and 36 states, and for native authorities functions there are some 770 authorities.

Nigeria has a blended authorized system consisting of English frequent legislation, Sharia legislation and customary legislation. The structure ensures the independence of the judiciary and permits the train of Sharia legislation for consenting Muslims.

The Supreme Court is presided over by the chief justice and has as much as 15 justices. It is the closing courtroom of enchantment; and it has jurisdiction over disputes between the states, or between the federal authorities and any state, notably in relation to the allocation of funds and sources, and over disputes arising from elections. The Federal Court of Appeal is headed by a president and has a minimum of 35 justices, with a minimal of three with experience in Sharia Law, and three in customary legislation.

There is the Federal High Court and a excessive courtroom in every of the 36 states. States are entitled to have a Sharia courtroom of enchantment and a customary courtroom of enchantment. Judges in the federal courts are appointed by the president on the advice of the National Judicial Council and accredited by the Senate. Judges in the state excessive courts are appointed by the state governors, additionally on the advice of the National Judicial Council, and accredited by the state meeting.


Leave a Reply